SuperMotors.net Forums

Forums > Car and Truck Make and Model Specific > Crown Victoria, Marauder, Marquis
various website to learn from
Thread Statistics:     Users to Post: 7   |   Total Posts: 7   |   Total Views: 1134
You must be logged in to post in or subscribe to this thread.Pages: 1
jdmeaux
• Lafayette, LA, USA
• Registered on 1/5/2009
• 525 posts
1 Vehicle
Posted:7/5/2012 06:12
Over the past couple of years, I have been answering questions about different problems people have had with their cars. Many have sent me direct e-mails on a specific problem looking for answers. While I have tried to answer many of them, many are way beyond my experience.

I am an old-school general mechanic, self-taught by desire and need. Since the 60's when I purchased my first car (a VW Karmen Ghia), I learned on my own to repair them. I have spent a small fortune on Haynes and Chilton manuals for every car I purchased. Once the new ones were out of warranty, I did my own work. Sometimes I did it right; sometimes I had to redo everything to get it right; and at times it had to go to the dealer for the repairs. I've rebuilt parts (when you could) and rewired entire vehicles (when corrosion was the major problem). I've transplanted engines and transmissions (Olds into a VW bus, Chevy into a Doge, Ford into a VW bug). And all of this was from learning what to do.