SuperMotors.net Forums

Forums > Car and Truck Make and Model Specific > Crown Victoria, Marauder, Marquis
squeal sound while shifting on heavy accelration
Thread Statistics:     Users to Post: 2   |   Total Posts: 5   |   Total Views: 682
You must be logged in to post in or subscribe to this thread.Pages: 1
emperor
• Los Angeles, CA, USA
• Registered on 7/28/2014
• 3 posts
Posted:7/28/2014 07:53
hi :
i'm new to grand marquis ...
i bought 98 grand marquis 133,000 mile dual exhaust .
k on heavy acceleration and while the car shifting to the next gear i hear squeal sound ...+ my car jump like some one hit me from behind ...

it doesn't do that in normal driving + i found when it's not worm(after few minutes of driving ) the sound doesn't come out + maybe the jump is less powerful ...

trans fluid changed 4 months ago + it's good no bad smell etc..
some one told me the squeal from the belt !!? no idea about the jump.

in this video you can hear the sound(second 6) .. it's not my car or any thing it's just the same sound i hear when mine shifts ..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4K3bsvmk0IAe

pls help i really don't know where to start ... TY

curemode2002
• Lehi, UT, USA
• Registered on 3/8/2012
• 147 posts
1 Vehicle
Posted:7/29/2014 10:22
Hi Emperor,
The kick in the pants is from a hard shift usually this type of shift is a little delayed this can cause the motor to rev higher than normal causing the belt to squeal especially if the belt is old. I had that same squeal from my belt when mine would shift hard.

When you serviced your Transmission did you go with standard Trans fluid or the recommended Synthetic Fluid? Also was the Transmission flushed or just the fluid changed?

A new belt may be in order as well check your serpentine belt for cracks or other wear issues.
emperor
• Los Angeles, CA, USA
• 3 posts
Posted:7/31/2014 05:23
Thank you sir for replaying :
i thought the same .. but you know this is my first car so i don't know much ...